The Regional Development Council, Region 02 conducted its 115th Regional Business Meeting on September 27, 2019 at Marco Paulo Hotel in Cauayan City.

The highlight of the RDC meeting was the nomination of Chairperson and Co-chairperson to head the Council for 2019-2022. Governor Rodito T. Albano III, a first-term Governor in Isabela Province, was unanimously endorsed as the lone nominee for Chairperson from the government sector. Former Tourism Regional Director Blessida Diwa from the private sector was also indorsed by the Council as Co-chairman. The names of the two nominees were submitted to the President who appoints the RDC2 Chairperson and Co-chairperson.

“I’d like to thank you for your trust and confidence, and I will try my best to become a real chairman,” said Governor Rodito as his way of expressing his gratitude to the Council for his lone nomination from the government sector.


The Council also confirmed fourteen (14) new set of Private Sector Representatives (PSR) who will all serve a three-year term. The newly confirmed PSRs are: Mr. Protacio D. Laguinday and Rev. Ferdinand Valdez for Agriculture and Fisheries; Mr. Cloyd C. Velasco for Trade, Industry and Services; Engr. Gilbert E. Acdal for Environment and Natural Resources; Engr. Bonifacio B. Carag for Social Welfare and Marginalized Sector; Mr. Christian R. Guzman for Health, Education and Manpower Development; Ms. Blessida G. Diwa for Tourism; Atty. Melchor A Battung for Labor and Mr. Napoleon P. Baltazar for Indigenous People and Cultural Communities. RDC2 Secretary Ferdinand Tumaliuan administered the oath-taking ceremony. As representatives of the private sector, PSRs are expected to attend and participate in RDC meetings, as well as meetings of sectoral committees on development, administration, social development, infrastructure development, economic development, environmental management, and indigenous people’s concerns.

Also confirmed are the government agencies who will sit as Special Non-Voting Members (SNVM). The participation/membership of the SNVM, according to PIA Regional Director Purita Licas, is deemed necessary by the council. Confirmed as SNV members are the following government agencies/offices: CEZA, CHED, DA-BFAR, DepEd, DENR-EMB, DENR-MGB-DOLE, DWSD, NCCA, NIA, PIA, TESDA and CSC.

The Regional Development Council is the highest planning and policy-making body in the region. It serves as the counterpart of the NEDA Board at the sub-national level. It is the primary institution that coordinates and sets the direction of all economic and social development efforts in the region. It also serves as a forum where local efforts can be related and integrated with regional and national development initiatives.