Isabela shines anew at the National Quality Corn Achievers Awards

Cognizant of the excellent performance in the development of the corn industry as a result of a strong and efficient Department of Agriculture (DA) – Local Government Units (LGUs) collaboration, the province of Isabela shines anew during the 7th National Quality Corn Achievers Award (NQCAA). Isabela bagged the award as one of the Top 5 Outstanding Provinces during the NQCAA awarding ceremony held at the Iloilo Convention Center, Mandurriao, Iloilo City on November 12, 2019. Also awarded were the provinces of Cagayan, La Union, Bukidnon and Agusan del Sur each receiving P3M cash incentive for projects plus a plaque of recognition.

With the theme “Bountiful Harvest and increased Farmers Income: Key to Prosperity and Inclusive Growth”, it recognized the achievements of top performing LGUs and DA-RFOs in the production of quality corn, together with the active participation of their respective Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs) in support to the development of corn and cassava as well as the whole grains industry sector. This annual event also serves as the venue for the various stakeholders of the corn industry to come together and discuss the current issues of the sector, share best farm practices, showcase modern farm equipment, technologies and forge market linkages.


DA Undersecretary for Operations Engr. Ariel T. Cayanan who represented DA Secretary William D. Dar handed out the awards to the winners. In his speech, Undersecretary Cayanan lauded the efforts of the LGUs and the private sector in supporting the programs and projects of DA under the corn banner program in order to attain inclusive growth amidst challenges in the agriculture sector.

With the Outstanding Province Award for Isabela, Provincial Veterinarian/Concurrent Provincial Agriculturist Dr. Angelo C. Naui also received the Outstanding Provincial Agriculturist Award and received a plaque of recognition plus P40,000 cash award. For the Outstanding City Award, the city of Ilagan bagged the award receiving P1M cash incentive plus plaque of recognition. City Agriculturist Moises C. Alamo of the city of Ilagan received cash award of P30,000 plus plaque of recognition as Outstanding City Agriculturist while City Coordinator Jenita Z. Fernandez received P25,000 cash award plus plaque of recognition as Outstanding City Corn Coordinator.

Since its inception in 2013, Isabela has been consistently awarded as one of the NQCAA Top 5 Outstanding Provinces and subsequently adjudged as the Hall of Fame in 2015. Once an LGU have attained the Hall of Fame award, the National Secretariat prohibits its participation within a period of three(3) years. However, the province continued to empower the corn farmers and sustain the food security being the number one corn producer in the country. In 2019, Isabela participated in the NQQA, and once again bagged the award.

The province remains a formidable contender in the National Quality Corn Achievers.